Skip navigation

Tonight I met up with a couple of kids I met my second night here. They are both 19, a little Korean couple.

It happened purely by chance.

I was sitting at an intersection where I had met this guy and his girlfriend before, as well as a couple of little high school girls (nothing perverted, they’re too innocent). I was sitting there for a couple of hours, and I had 3 of these vodka drinks over the span of 2 hours or so, and I was reading my Hunter S. Thompson book.

Anyway, Charlie (or Charles, as I call him) showed up with his girlfriend on a little Vespa clone. He let me drive it! Don’t worry, I wasn’t drunk. I drove it though a few back roads. I left my camera as collateral, because I knew that he was a little nervous. Hell, I thought they’d run with it, since his girlfriend seems to love photography almost as much as I do. A fair trade, I say.

I turn the key. The smell of carborated exhaust fills the air, and adrenaline surges from my kidneys. I didn’t top 20km/h, because of the tiny streets here, but I swear the best way to see this place is by scooter.

Weaving among traffic, I was able to see a lot of the area that I hadn’t before, and I had only been driving for 5 minutes tops. I knew Charlie was worried that I was going to either steal it, or bung it up. I did neither.

I drove around a bit, and came back to where he was, to see his face a little nervous. I laughed. I explained to him my experience with these things in Cuba. We talked for a while, and all of a sudden his girlfriend pulls her hair off of her head and starts brushing it. She had cut it off one night after drinking 7 bottles of soju, which is a popular type of alcohol based on rice.

Driving along those narrow streets had a sort of romance about it that you would only dream or read about. $1000 he said. $1000 for that kind of freedom and ability to go wherever you wanted. No wonder every Korean has one. If I was more of an idiot than I already am, I would consider getting one, cops be damned.

And so, I told him I had to leave (9:30) and he offered to let me boot around town once more. How could I resist? I drove around the block a bit, and parked it where I was before. Looks like I’ve got Charlie’s trust now. I might ask him to boot me off to Itaewon (technology capital of Seoul) or Yeocksam, where my friend lives.

2 posts on one day… nat bead.

One Comment

  1. haha… yeah this looks like fun. i’m leaving for seoul the 25th for esl

    i’m going to add you on facebook, if that’s alright


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:20 pm

    […] Family Mart Extravaganza, and the Wheels of Doom – August 7, 2008 […]

Leave a Reply

