Skip navigation

Yesterday, my blog was hit for the thousandth time. As of right now, I have 1006 unique visitors. On September 27, I had 550. That’s a big jump in numbers.

Anyway I’d like to thank everyone who’s been visiting my blog.

And now on to some news.

I met with my conversation partners this weekend. I met them all through the Brock Unviersity IELP conversation partner program back in 2007. It seems like much longer ago than that. Anyway, 2 of my friends came from Daegu, and the other lives in Seoul. The friends from Daegu brought a friend who also attended Brock.

Here’s a picture:

Aren’t we cute?

Moving on…

I decided to go hiking this weekend at Gwanak mountain, but I couldn’t find a way up. I found a trail leading up a big rock, but didn’t have enough time to continue. I got pretty high up and got some nice shots of the city. I also met some really nice older Korean people who shared their fruit with me. They didn’t speak any English.

They vehemently refused to have a picture with me, but I could take a picture of them. I don’t get it.

They were just sitting on a huge rock on the side of a mountain. How cool is that? One thing I notice here is that, even on the bigger mountains, you will see people ranging in age from 10 years old to 80+ years old climbing the mountain. Even on the most difficult parts of Dobong mountain I saw really old people keeping up with me. It’s incredible.

More pictures from Gwanak here. And as always, all of my Korean photos here.

More to come.

3 Comments

  1. Hi Mike!

    I can’t tell you how much I look forward to reading your blog, when I get a chance to get onto my computer. And as I read it I say to myself, “What an Experience!”.
    I’m sure you appreciate that fact!

    Please keep the updates coming! And please, above all else, stay safe! Have fun!

    Laura & Doug

  2. Hi Mike!

    It’s me!! Aunt Sandi (Baker). I really enjoyed reading your blog. Your pictures are amazing. I’m glad to here your getting settled. You look great. Everyone says “Hi” we are looking forward to more pics. We are at your house for Thanksgiving. I’ll have a turkey leg for you and perhaps a glass of wine or two . Miss ya,take care of yourself and talk to you soon.

    Love Aunt Sandi #2

  3. Hey Mike!

    Yes, you are cute. (You must be in heaven lol) Your blog is awesome… I love your writing style and the variety of topics. I’m really happy to see that you’re enjoying yourself and absorbing everything.
    Everyone misses you here, especially Boyo. Snuggles are pending upon your return. lol

    – awwwh jeeezze


Leave a Reply

