Skip navigation

We took a field trip to Seoul Forest Park last week. It was a lot of fun, and we didn’t have to do any school work, which was a nice change. I got to spend the day with my kids and the other teachers. We had a really nice day for it. I love my job.

You can find a selection of the pictures here.

Another thing I’d like to talk about is grapes.

The grapes here are outstanding. They’re the kind of grapes we use in Ontario for making wine. You know, the kind where the skin holds the seed membrane. The skin falls away to the delicious bulb of goodness inside. Oddly, Koreans don’t eat the skin; they nip the outside of the grape and suck out the inside. They then spit the seeds into the grape skin. Blasphemy I say! My kids were shocked to see me eating the whole thing, seeds and all.  Maybe they’re afraid of planting a vineyard in their colon. Happened to me once, and it wasn’t pretty. The birds were picking at my ass for weeks.

Let’s talk about the picture above. Notice how they are holding hands. Anyone who knows me well knows that I am pretty paranoid about germs. My kids want to hold my hand and feed me food, and even kiss me. I simply can’t. The students drink from a set of about 5 cups, shared among 30 kids, on my floor alone. I nearly wretch every time I see it.

I asked the lunch lady if the cups in the lunch room (for the kids) were clean. She grabbed one and rinsed it under water, and told me it was clean. I ran away.

If I catch a student picking their nose, and they see me catching them doing it, they know to go to the bathroom and wash their hands. One time I suspected a student of having pink eye. I gave a lecture about what pink eye is, and how it is transmitted. My Korean helper at the time got a good kick out of it. I wasn’t laughing.

Tomorrow I will go to Daejeon, which is another major city here. It will be a 2 hour train ride by ‘mugunghwa’, which is the ‘normal speed’ train. It cruises at about 150km/h. If that’s sold out, I will take the KTX train, which cruises at 300km/h, and will get me there in about 1 hour. Should be a cool experience.

Of course, I’ll keep you updated.

Leave a Reply

