Skip navigation

Waygook roughly means ‘foreigner’.

I wrote this when I got up too early.

I don’t drink copee I take cha my dear
I like my kimchi old and strong
And you can hear it in my accent when I talk
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul

See me walking around Itaewon
A subway map here in my hand
I take it everywhere I walk
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul

I’m an alien I’m a legal alien
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul
I’m an alien I’m a legal alien
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul

If every white guy is American
Then I’m the hero of the day
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile
Be yourself no matter what they say

I’m an alien I’m a legal alien
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul
I’m an alien I’m a legal alien
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul

Modesty, propriety can lead to notoriety
But it doesn’t matter in this town
Gentleness, sobriety are rare in this society
At night you can spend a million won

Takes more than English skills to teach these kids
Takes more than a license to drive here
Confront your directors, avoid them when you can
A gentleman will walk but never run

If every white guy is American
Then I’m the hero of the day
It takes a man to suffer ignorance and smile
Be yourself no matter what they say

I’m an alien I’m a legal alien
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul
I’m an alien I’m a legal alien
I’m a waygook guy here in Seoul

One Comment

  1. ‘Englishman in New York’ by Sting..
    ‘Canadien man in Seoul’ by Mike..

    hahaha.. I like that alot…
    But pls be yourself no matter what they say…in Korea^^

    (However it’s funny that I often feel like an alien in Korea…why’s that!!! But I am sure it’s not only me…)


Leave a Reply

