Skip navigation

dsc_4061

There were many people there on that Tuesday afternoon; families having picnics, groups of students playing sports, people running around the track, and me. The park is encircled by a walking/running track. I walked around the track and found an attraction called “Japanese Garden”. I’m in Japan, so might as well check it out. It cost me 250 yen to get in (don’t get me started), but it was WELL worth it. That garden was one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen. Everything was laid out so well. It’s like the park was designed with the rule of thirds in mind. I made a couple of videos from inside the garden, and took at least 100 photos. It was absolutely spectacular. There were brooks and small waterfalls running through it, a zen garden, and all different kinds of trees and flowers. Best of all, I was in the middle of cherry blossom season. I had read about cherry blossom season in Japan before, but it far exceeded my expectations.

dsc_4043

Imagine pink-white clouds hovering about 7 feet off the ground, with millions of petals floating in the calm breeze. I haven’t felt something like that in… well… ever, really. Tranquility. Peace. Calm. This was a stark contrast to the noise and filth of Seoul. Don’t get me wrong, I love Seoul, but that garden gave me a feeling like no other, and I am an avid mountain climber in Korea.

I met a girl eating lunch by the water. I can’t remember her name. Anyway, I asked her where the castle ruins are, and she didn’t know. We talked for a bit and I was on my way.

STOP LOOKING AT ME, SWAN!

STOP LOOKING AT ME, SWAN!

I completed my circle of the park, and decided to head to Nishi Park, which is famous for its cherry blossoms and intricate shrines and temples.

Nishi park was absolutely gorgeous. I can’t stress enough how clean Japan is. The park was filled with white cherry blossoms. They seemed to be ever-exploding fireworks, bursting mid-air, reflecting peace and tranquility. I am really glad that I am a decent photographer. Had I not been able to get good photos of the cherry blossoms, you wouldn’t even begin to understand how beautiful it was. My photos don’t come close to showing the true beauty of the flowers. It’s just one of those things that you have to see for yourself. I wish so much that my family and dog could have been there to see this. I spent about 4 hours wandering the park, and found a labyrinthian convolution of stairs and paths to mini-shrines, each more delicate and intricate as the next. they were impeccably cared for. It was so quiet and peaceful there.

dsc_40641

The sun was going down, and I was exhausted, so I headed back to the subway to my hotel, and relaxed for the night.

dsc_4020

The next day, I woke up at 8 and headed over to pick up my visa. It was ready, but I still only have a stupid single-entry visa. WHY!? Why. Americans get multiple-entry visas. Mine is single, meaning if I want to leave the country and come back, I have to pay something like 50,000 won for a re-entry permit. It’s a pain to have to go across Seoul to get one. I don’t have any travel plans for the future, but if I did, I would need to get a permit, like I did when I came home for Christmas.

I walked around the beach (yes, beach) near the Yahoo! dome, and got a nice soaker when a wave came crashing onto my foot. I went to the mall, walked around a bit, bought an $8 pair of socks, and headed to the airport.

And here I am, waiting for my check-in. I came about 4 hours early for my flight, just to be sure there aren’t any complications like there was in Seoul. I can’t even check in until 2 hours before my flight leaves, so I am sitting on a bench outside of the desk area, waiting to check in. I’m getting a bit hungry, but my butt already hurts from being raped by the yen, so I’m going to try to hold off until I get on the plane. They’ll have a little something something for me once we’re in the air.

Quite the post eh? I should chop this thing up so that people will actually read it. Us Sesame Street generation aren’t used to paying attention for more than 10 minutes at a time.

Here’s a video of the park:

One Comment

  1. Ep1c poast man. That garden looks like an amazing place to throw down a blanket and listen to Mozart, or maybe the Tao te Ching.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:18 pm

    […] Fukuoka – Ohori and Nishi Park – April 1, 2009 […]

Leave a Reply

