Skip navigation

DSC_4886

Namhansanseong is a fortress that originated in the year 672 to protect from the Chinese. I decided to check it out last Sunday because I had nothing to do. It took about an hour by subway, and another 45 minutes once I got there, since I had to take a bus all the way up the mountain, which is about 500m above sea level.

DSC_4814

The park houses 3 gates, left over from around 1636. I was pretty impressed by this place. It felt like a mini Great Wall of China… although I’ve never actually seen the Great Wall.

DSC_4869

I was actually out of Seoul, but I was still able to get some pretty incredible views of the city. I was up pretty high and I could see Namsan tower, which is pretty damn far from where I was. It definitely wasn’t as rigorous a trip as Dobongsan, Gwanaksan, or Suraksan, but I got a pretty good workout. At the end of the day, I found a gorgeous shrine which was unfortunately closed. It was immaculate. There was a spring water well beside it too, which I desperately needed after my long hike with only 500mL of water:

DSC_4889DSC_4883

I grabbed some cotton candy, and a bus to the subway station. After that I accidentally got drunk, and came home. The end.

Photos here.

2 Comments

  1. Hi Mike, It’s really Mom, not Dad.
    Those pics are awesome, what a beautiful place.
    How does one accidentally get drunk?
    Keep up the good work!

  2. Beautiful photos. It reminds me of the three years I spent in Seoul. Korean people are really wonderful – most of the time.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:17 pm

    […] Namhansanseong – June 4, 2009 […]

Leave a Reply

