Skip navigation

DSC_6836

This past Sunday, I was lucky enough to be invited to a traditional Korean wedding. When I say traditional, I mean traditional. The bride was carried in a box carried by 4 guys, and the groom was carried on a chair. The handbook (한벅) that the bride was wearing was absolutely breathtakingly bright and vibrant. She looked absolutely incredible. I didn’t even recognize her.

DSC_6622

To be honest, at first I was dreading coming to this. As much as I love my coworkers, the thought of spending a perfectly good Sunday with them was kind of off-putting to me. I am so glad that I came. This was one of the most moving and culturally educating experiences I’ve ever had in Korea.

The whole ceremony was about an hour or so. So much went on that it was hard for me to take it all in. I was also shooting the hell out of the whole thing. I took over 400 pictures. I wonder if I took more photos than their hired photographer. A lot of traditional stuff went on. It seems the groom gave the bride’s parents a wooden bird wrapped in cloth (?). I could be totally wrong on that one. After that, she got into a wooden box, and he got onto a chair. They were both carried in procession to the altar.

DSC_6700DSC_6706

There was this really old guy who talked and sang, and there was a traditional Korean band playing. It was a perfect day for all of this. The sun was bright and there was a cool breeze. After all the marriage formalities, we went to a hall for lunch, which was a huge buffet.

I wish that I could explain more about the formalities and tradition in the wedding, but I really have no idea, and I was also busy shooting the entire time. It was my hope to get an iPhoto hardcover album for her, but Apple doesn’t deliver those to Korea. Dangit. So I think I will print a nice photo of her and her new husband and put it in a nice frame.

Cathy and I have not got along in the past, but we’ve been really good lately, and I feel very lucky that she had me be a part of her wedding.

I made some videos of it. I’m not sure if I will post them or not, depending on how well they turned out. I haven’t had a chance to look at them yet.

I was so lucky to be able to go to this wedding. This is the reason I came to Korea; to see things that I would never see in Canada. While I do miss Canada, it’s things like this that, strangely, make me feel more at home.


DSC_6955

5 Comments

  1. I hope you snap 400+ pictures at our wedding ! 🙂

    Miss ya Mike.

    • Funny you said that. We took 412. 🙂

  2. Hey Mike,

    Great post and pictures!
    Nice to see you enjoying the culture.
    Still miss you though!

  3. Hey there dude; long time no talk. It’s been a while since I visited this site so I thought I’d check it out. Awesome pics and commentary. Glad to see you’re soaking it all up.

    Kim, the boys and I miss you very much.

    Take Care of yourself

    Unkee Tom

  4. Mike the pic’s are so awesome and the commentary is really great keep it up \.
    Enjoy all the cultural events so you can teach us how opposite we are and how much we are alike.
    Love ya
    Sandy


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:20 pm

    […] A Traditional Korean Wedding – September 15, 2009 […]

Leave a Reply

