Skip navigation

DSC_7392

Once upon a morning dreary, while I pondered weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one forcibly rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
`’Tis some ajoshi,’ I muttered, `tapping at my chamber door –
Only this, and nothing more.’

I was awoken by the constant banging of my landlord on my door. Every time I hear knocking on my door, I think it’s the police for some reason, although I haven’t committed any crime in Korea.

He had a suit on, and was carrying a tray with 3 plates on it. He had made up a traditional Korean breakfast for me and the other occupants on my floor. It consisted of steamed pork belly, complete with skin, 2 slices of pear, 2 slices of apple, VERY strong kimchi, sausage fried in egg, and a cold beer. With a huge smile, he passed me this monstrosity of a breakfast, wished me a happy Chuseok, and headed on to continue slamming on my surely hung over floormates’ door.

I tried to get back to sleep, but the smell of fermented cabbage kept me awake. I submitted to its aroma, and ate. The pork belly had about 3cm of fat on it, and the skin was still on. I couldn’t eat it. I trimmed the fat from the more acceptable pieces, ate the sausage, and some of the kimchi. This kimchi is definitely home made, since I’ve never tasted a stronger kimchi in my 1 year and 2 months in Korea.

DSC_7394

This was a really surprising gesture from my landlord, whom I was sure hated me.

The sun is out, the clouds are gone, and it’s going to be 24 degrees with a cool breeze today. I have a plan with a friend, but I’ll try to get some pictures of fall coming in. I think today will be a good day.

PS: My 10,000th visitor is fast approaching. Is there any kind of special post that you would like to see? Email me with ideas at mikejrisi@gmail.com

One Comment

  1. I can smell it from here!
    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!


Leave a Reply

