Skip navigation

DSC_7398

Today I went to Gwanghwamun (광화문) to check out the Chuseok celebrations. Gwanghwamun is a really nice place, but it was decorated very thoroughly this weekend for Chuseok. Chuseok is the annual harvest celebration, sort of like thanksgiving, but not thanksgiving. To celebrate, Koreans make a traditional treat called songpyeon (송편), which is glutenous rice cake with ‘sok’ in the middle, which is usually made from ground peanuts, honey, and sesame seeds. I got to make some with my school last week.

DSC_7407

Cheonggyecheon (chong-GAY-chon) (청계천) is a man-made river that is about 6km long, running through the middle of Seoul. I’ve been here many, many times, but today was particularly special because the fall weather is finally here, with a nice cool breeze and bright sunshine. This drew many people to Gwanghwamun and Cheonggyecheon. There were a lot of families having picnics near the water, relaxing and talking. It made me miss my family a lot. I wish my parents could come to Seoul so that I could show them the wonders of this beautiful city.

DSC_7405

This statue was featured on a website about the weirdest statues from around the world. I think I have to agree with them.

DSC_7420

This is a statue of Yi Sun-sin, who was a commander of the army against Japanese invasion. It’s a really cool statue that ties the whole area together, with a beautiful fountain surrounding it, which kids love to play in.

Gwanghwamun has got to be one of my favourite places in Seoul. I say that about many places here, but I really mean it about this place. It’s so clean, and there is a lot to do and see there. The mountains set the background for the fountain and statue, and are quite breathtaking on a clear day like today. I wish the weather would stay like this always.

DSC_7401

2 Comments

  1. Great post Mike,
    What a beautiful place, and it looked like the weather couldn’t have been nicer.
    I’m glad you were able to get out and enjoy it.
    Beautiful pics.

  2. Thanx for nice pics! You remind me my hometown… Im seoul girl living Rome. I miss there so much!! I’ve been almost 2 years apart from there.. Yeah. I do agree that spiral statue or something is the most weird thing in whole world.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:18 pm

    […] Beautiful Gwanghwamun and Cheonggyecheon – October 4, 2009 […]

Leave a Reply

