Skip navigation

I’m doing a language exchange with a couple of businessmen I met at a Starbucks one day. They teach me Korean, I teach them English. It’s actually pretty cool to have a different perspective on things. They work for a really big company. One of them is a high-ranking internet security officer, and the other is a system administrator and trainer for (I’d say) the world’s leading corporate unix systems.

I have to go all the way to Jamsil (잠실) to meet with them every week, but we end up having a great time talking about technology and security.

Anyway, on the way to Jamsil is a station called Gangbyeon (강변). Here is Seoul’s second biggest electronics market, called Teconomart (테크노마트). I usually have a bit of spare time before we meet, so I got to look through Technomart. The salespeople aren’t as pushy as at Yongsan (용산), but from my experience, the prices are a bit higher at Technomart.

After 2 more stops, I arrive at Jamsil station (잠실역). Jamsil is an upper-class part of the city, and from what my friends tell me, one of the most expensive places to live in Seoul. Here there are huge apartment buildings with helipads on top. I’ve heard that a condo here can cost upwards of $5,000,000. That’s a lot of bones. Located here is Lotte World, one of the major amusement parks here in Seoul. I went there in the summer with a friend (see my previous post about it).

Jamsil is a really nice place, but it’s not very central. It’s about a half hour or 45 minutes by subway from the center of the city.

I’m still trying to decide whether or not to stay here another year or go home. I’ve got 3 months to weigh my options. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

