Skip navigation


I have been here for 1 year and 5 months.

I have learned to read Korean fairly well, although I have no idea what it means most of the time. I’ve learned to understand some Korean, especially when someone is talking about me, and sometimes I wish I didn’t understand what people were saying about me, although I don’t really care what people think of me.

I’ve paid bills, argued with phone companies, moved across the city by myself, got sick, been rich, been broke, ate some of the most… interesting food I’ve ever experienced, learned how to adapt in a Confucian culture, finally seen the iPhone come (!), climbed mountains, been to a couple of different cities, been to Japan, learned to cook Korean food, taken over 10,000 photos… I could go on.

I still haven’t decided whether or not I am coming home in March, but right now I am 90% sure that I will. This will be my first Christmas not with my family. I made a feeble attempt to watch National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation last night. I didn’t make it through the opening credits. It feels wrong to be without my family on Christmas.

I don’t mean for this to be another of those reflective posts. That’s getting a bit worn. I guess this will be about my next (or last) 3 months in Seoul. 25,000,000 people. Hell Canada has 35,000,000 people in an area bigger than China. One thing I’ve always wondered is how the sewer system here works. At least 20,000,000 people take a shower (questionably), use the toilet, wash their hands, etc. Walking down the street, you can often smell the acrid fumes from the sewer, but that’s to be expected in a city of this many people. Also, many Koreans refuse to drink the water. I myself drink the water often, and haven’t felt any ill effects. I think the issue with the water isn’t whether or not it’s clean, but possibly the presence of metals. Again, I’m not concerned. I did a tour of a water treatment facility with my old school and I was pretty impressed.

For Christmas this year, I am considering going to Hiroshima. My cousin went there this year and took some really inspiring pictures. I would love to see the monument and pay my respects to all those who died there. I’m hoping to find a last minute deal of some kind.

Anyway, this post has kind of turned into a ‘thinking out loud’ thing. That wasn’t really my intention, but it is what it is. I would really love some feedback from you guys in terms of what I should write about, or any questions you might have about my daily life. My email address is at the bottom of this page, so feel free to email me with anything you can think of. I’ve got almost 12,000 visitors now, and I’m sure at least one of you have thought of something you’d like to see here.

One Comment

  1. The best cure for homesickness is to go home! I learned that 1st hand. I guarantee nothing much has changed and life still goes on as normal back home. A ‘visit’ home will cure homesickness as you will slip right back to old ways after a few weeks. Sometimes it’s all you need to make your decision. It’s great at first as everyone takes time off work to see you, and you have things planned everyday. Once the holiday is done though, life continues. People work, you run low on cash and all of a sudden it’s friday night, nobody has plans and you’re broke!


Leave a Reply

