Skip navigation

Image from Wikipedia

On December 25th I am heading to Hiroshima, Japan for a 4-day vacation. I decided on Hiroshima because I’ve always wanted to see it, and I feel that I kind of owe it to humanity to see where the first atomic bomb was used against an enemy.

I’ve begun to prepare an itinerary for myself.

I’ll arrive at my hotel around 9pm on Friday. I’ll go to the Hiroshima bomb memorial and see what I can see. I’ll sleep and get up the next morning to see it during the day time.

I will also go to the Itsukushima shrine, which is a shrine on the island of Itsukushima. It is a short ferry ride from the end of one of the tram lines in Hiroshima. It’s considered a sacred place, built around the year 500, and since then, nobody has been born or died there, in order to preserve its purity.

That’s not my image. If it were, it would be straight. I got it from Wikipedia.

I’ll also check out the Hiroshima Gokoku Jinja shrine.

I was inspired to go here by my cousin, Warren, who was attending the Tokyo Game Show, and stopped by Hiroshima as well as some other cities during his stay in Japan. He’s got my dream job, basically. He runs a game promotion and development company.

Anyway, my parents saw Pearl Harbor when they went to Hawaii, and my mom told me to prepare myself for a really emotional time. It’s kinda funny how my parents saw the cause of the bomb being dropped on Hiroshima, and I’m going there myself.

I got a really good deal on my flight, and my hotel as well. I went through a private agent for my flight, and Agoda for my hotel.

Should be an interesting Christmas.

One Comment

  1. Looks killer man, wish I could join. You’re gonna be missed big time this Christmas.


Leave a Reply

