Skip navigation

This illustrates one of my favourite things about Japan. Don't be a bad smoker.

I left my apartment around 1pm. I’m at Gimpo airport now waiting for my express train to leave to Incheon airport. My flight leaves at 6:30, and it’s now 3, so I’ve got time. I have to run to the immigration office to get a re-entry permit, since Korea sees it fit to only give Canadians a single-entry visa. If I weren’t to get this, I would forfeit my visa and would not be able to teach. I could get back into the country for maybe 2 months, just enough time to get my stuff.

Anyway, I will be in Hiroshima from December 29th until January 2nd. I am really looking forward to some peace, being on my own in a place I’ve never been before. I don’t have much of an itinerary, since I’m pretty sure that the museums and such will be closed No matter, I am still excited to see a place I haven’t seen before, without any hindrances or things to worry about, aside from finding my way to the airport at 7am on Jan 2nd. My train is on its way now. I will be updating this blog every day during my trip, and will definitely have hundreds of photos of Hiroshima and the surrounding area.

I wrote that last bit on the train to the airport. I’m in my hotel now. I met some really nice people who helped me figure out the streetcars. Although they gave me wrong directions to my hotel, I can’t blame them. I found it easily enough. It’s about 11:30pm now, and I’m gonna head to bed soon so I can get up early tomorrow morning and check out the atomic bomb dome. That’s the first thing I’ll check out. I hope to go to Hiroshima Castle tomorrow.

BTW I should plug my travel agent, who’s been really cool in dealing with my constant questions and changing of plans. His name is Joshua, and he works for a company called Kyobo Travel. His email address is oasisk@hanmail.net. If you’re in Korea and looking to travel, he’s matched every price I threw at him, and he’s been really reliable with following up with me on the phone as well as email. He didn’t ask or tell me to do this, I am doing it on my own volition.

One Comment

  1. Excited to read about your adventures man! I’ll be checking back regularly.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:17 pm

    […] Post 1 […]

Leave a Reply

