Skip navigation

Side note: Hey, National Geographic, if you’re looking for a young, fit, and brilliant guy to equip with the latest Nikon gear, and ship around the world to write, I’m your man. My blog here is mainly vernacular, in order to reach a more broad range of people. My writing skills extend far beyond colloquial English.

I woke up this morning around 9am, and dragged myself to get outside. It was a nice morning, but a bit cloudy. Anyway, after a couple cups of coffee I headed to the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park to see what I could see. And I saw a lot.

This is a shot from across the river of the A-Bomb Dome. It is the building closest to the hypocenter that survived the blast. The feeling in the air was solemn, as if the trees themselves knew the horrors of the bombing of Hiroshima. My parents warned me that it would be a moving experience, but I didn’t expect this.

This is the Children’s Peace Memorial.

This part of the park really got to me. This is a burial mound for tens of thousands of people who were incinerated instantly when the bomb went off. Most people near the hypocenter of the bomb were literally vaporized. Those on the oter parts of the blast were burned. This mound is a collection of tens of thousands of people’s ashes that were found throughout the city. There is no official number of deaths resulting from the bomb, but my research shows 140,000. My city has 18,000 people in it.

This clock statue is set at 8:15, which is the minute the bomb was detonated above the city.

This picture shows one of the original street cars that survived the bombing. I can’t remember where I read that, so I can’t cite it, but as you can see, it’s pretty old looking. The streetcars here are easy to use, and relatively cheap. A trip from Hiroshima Station to Kanayama-cho was 150 yen, which is about $1.75 Canadian. Much more expensive than Seoul, where a typical trip is about 1,000 won, or about 90 cents.

So. It’s been an interesting day. I plan on heading to Hiroshima Palace tomorrow. I don’t think I can make it to Miyajima island, because the weather will be pretty crappy. That’s too bad.

Still, I consider myself incredibly lucky to be able to experience this. Very few people will be able to see this in their lifetime, which is a terrible shame. I think the leaders of every country in the world should visit the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Park.

Those who cannot learn from history are doomed to repeat it.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:20 pm

    […] Post 2 […]

Leave a Reply

