Skip navigation

As planned, today I went to Hiroshima Castle. Of course, like every other museum or attraction in Hiroshima, it was closed. It took me about a half hour to walk there. It was a really nice day with a lot of sun and flurries. It was about 0 degrees, but it felt a lot warmer than that, until I had been outside for a couple of hours. Then I got cold.

Anyway, yeah. Hiroshima Castle is a beautiful example of Japanese architecture. I can see a lot of differences between Korean and Japanese architecture. It seems to me that Japan uses a lot more dark colours, while Korea uses bright and festive colours.

The castle is located inside a huge moat with massive koi fish swimming in there. These things are seriously about 3/4 the size of me. The area surrounding the castle is also pretty interesting. The walkways are lined with holly trees, and there were a lot of trees that I found to be really characteristic of Japan, whatever that means.

It was a really cool experience, but I would have really loved to go inside. I came at the time when any kind of tourist attraction is closed, including the Hiroshima Memorial Museum, Hiroshima Castle, and pretty much anything else you can think of. I’m trying to pace myself so that I’ll have something to do tomorrow.

Oh, and happy new year.

One Comment

  1. Awesome, Mike!
    Simply awesome!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Best Of MikeInKorea « Mike in Korea on 01 Mar 2011 at 3:18 pm

    […] Post 3 […]

Leave a Reply

