Skip navigation

So I decided to get out to Cheonggyecheon (청계천) tonight to see the lights. It was pretty awesome. They had a bunch of laser light shows going on in the mist of the night. It made for a really nice atmosphere.

I can’t count how many times I’ve been to Cheonggyecheon. Tonight I got off at Gwanghwamun station (광화문 역), which is at the top of Cheonggyecheon, and walked about 4km. It was rainy and wet and cold, so I’m pretty happy to be at home now. I wish I had brought my video camera to take some short clips.

There was basically nobody there tonight because of the weather. This was a nice change from the usual crowded conditions there. Since it was raining, the snow had turned to ice, which made me do a pretty interesting dance a few times.

I was surprised to see ducks and even some kind of crane in the water while I was there. The crane was really skiddish and wouldn’t let me get close enough to get a good shot of it. As I quietly approached it, it took off in what appeared to be slow motion. At this point I could barely see it because of how dark it was. As I glanced over into my predicted flight path, I saw it soaring away into the cold, damp night.

3 Comments

  1. Hi, i’m coming to korea this end feb and intend to go to Cheonggyecheon river to take some pics, where is the nicest spot i should go since my duration at korea is very limited.

    • Lucky!

      I think the best way to enjoy Cheonggyecheon is to take the subway to City Hall Station (시청역) on the green line. You can start at Deoksu Palace (덕수궁) (can’t miss it, it’s a beautiful palace park area with a huge gate), and from there, walk along Cheonggyecheon. It’s about 6km long, so you’ll have a lot to see.

      I’m not sure if HiSeoul is still happening now (pretty sure it’s always happening), so you’re bound to see some cool light shows and such.

      Take lots of photos and enjoy your time there. Be sure to get a cup of roasted chestnuts for the long cold walk. Have fun!

        • Ros
        • Posted January 23, 2011 at 4:45 pm
        • Permalink

        thanks for that info, appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

