Skip navigation

I’ve been dreading to write this post for months. I’m finally out of Korea. I can say that the hardest thing I had to do was to say goodbye. I’m not good with goodbyes, so I did my best to make the situation as ugly and angry as possible. I guess I still don’t know how to deal with emotions, and I regret the way I handled myself. I’m feeling pretty low right now.

I’m sitting in Dallas Fort Worth airport waiting for my cheeseburger, nearly in tears for the 20th time today. I feel a huge loss and emptiness in my heart. I’ve lived in Korea for nearly 2 years, and I did a lot of growing and changing there.

There was actually a point when I had a small panic attack on the flight from Japan, and I was ready to jump out the window and somehow parachute back to my home in Geumho-dong, Seongdong-gu.

I guess you really don’t know what you’ve got ’till it’s gone.

I have a funny feeling that I will return to Korea soon.

3 Comments

  1. hey man i just wanted to say ive really enjoyed reading your blog and it has definitely convinced me to pursue trying to teach english in korea as well…which program do you think would be the best?

    • Mike, how are you doing….I sat beside you on the flight from Tokyo…Keep your head up…Dave Lee

  2. Hello Mike,

    I can sympathize with your withdrawal symptoms. We have been across the Yellow Sea from Seoul in Yantai China for 8 years now. Every trip back stateside, I really miss Yantai and can’t wait to get back. We travel through Incheon most trips (Asiana) and they put us up in Seoul. You might want to add China to your list of to do’s. Asia is a cool place.


Leave a Reply

